WWAMI Faculty Awards June 2023 edition

Here is where we list the names of UWSOM faculty who have received awards. The listing comes from our bimonthly Faculty Newsletter. If you know of someone who should be acknowledged, please let us know at uwsomcom@uw.edu.

Foundation honors retired faculty

The Infectious Diseases Diseases of America Foundation has named the George W. Counts, M.D., FIDSA, Executive Conference Room in honor of one of the country’s leading physicians, researchers, teachers, mentors and leaders.“This space will honor Dr. Counts and his substantial accomplishments advancing the care of patients, especially those of color, as well as mentoring many infectious diseases physicians in their early career who were underrepresented,” said Paul Auwaerter, M.D., M.B.A., Professor of Medicine at the John Hopkins University School of Medicine and President of the IDSA Foundation.

Dr. Counts served as a Professor of Medicine at the University of Washington and a Member at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center in Seattle until he retired in 2003. He also served at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseasesand the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. In 2002, he returned to the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center in Seattle as a Senior Advisor with the HIV Vaccine Trials Unit.

During the early-1990s, Dr. Counts organized a small interest group of minority ID medical school faculty, ID practitioners, public health colleagues and ID fellows to form a network dedicated to information sharing and professional development. Today, the Counts Interest Group remains a crucial networking consortium within the IDSA and helps advance its inclusion, diversity, access and equity goals.


Wyoming WWAMI faculty honored

mugshots of all three winners

Wyoming is able to boast that they have three award-winning faculty this spring. You can click on the names of the faculty for links to more details about them and what they were honored for.

Ellbogen Lifetime Teaching Award: Pamela Langer, Ph.D., WWAMI faculty, Associate Professor in the University of Wyoming’s Department of Molecular Biology

Ellbogen Meritorious Classroom Teaching Award: Sree Nair, Ph.D., WWAMI faculty, Professor, School of Pharmacy, University of Wyoming

Outstanding Teacher Award: John Willford, Ph.D., Clinical Associate Professor, WWAMI Medical Education Program.