Student Affairs

The Office of Student Affairs is dedicated to supporting all medical students through their medical student journeys, from matriculation to graduation. Our services, resources, and programs offer holistic support to students as they grow as individuals and as future physicians. Our student services include academic support and tutoring, career advising, residency application support, counseling and wellness, financial aid and budgeting, enhancing the learning environment, and service learning opportunities. We are excited to work with each student as they move through their medical school career and are here for all students to offer help, support, and guidance along the way.

Helpful Links

Learning Environment Feedback Tool (aLERT)
Learning Environment website
Student Health and Wellness
What to do in case of a needlestick?

Meet the Student Affairs Team

Contact us if you have any questions about the University of Washington School of Medicine.

Gerald Tolbert

Gerald Tolbert, MD

Interim Associate Dean, Assistant Dean for Student Support
gtolbert@uw.edu

Maya Sardesai

Maya Sardesai, MD, MEd

Assistant Dean for Student Development
sardesai@uw.edu

Blank headshot

Sarah Wood

Director
sewood@uw.edu

blank headshot

Jaël Allen

Assistant to the Student Affairs Deans
adminsa@uw.edu

Edmel Ronquillo

Program Coordinator, Student Affairs
redmel@uw.edu

Melissa Zent

Melissa Zent

MSPE Manager
mzent@uw.edu

A woman with short brown hair wearing glasses and a red floral shirt

Diane Noecker

Director, Financial Aid Office
dnoecker@uw.edu

A woman with short brown hair wearing a pink blouse.

Shannon Advincula

Financial Aid Counselor
sadvin@uw.edu

Leonora Clarke

Leonora Clarke

Assistant Director, Service Learning
clarkel@uw.edu

Cliff Kelly

Cliff Kelly, MS, MDiv, LMHC

Director, Counseling & Wellness Services
ckelly70@uw.edu

Woman with long blonde hair smiling in front of a white background

Nathalie Hovatta, MEd, LMHC

Counselor, Counseling & Wellness Services
nhovatta@uw.edu

Sarah Thomson

Sarah Thomson

Director, Career Advising
sarah744@uw.edu

Linh Ngo

Linh Ngo

Career Advisor
lngo333@uw.edu

Tonja Brown

Tonja Brown

Career Advisor
tlbrown@uw.edu

Erica Brice, PhD

Director, Academic Support
ebrice@uw.edu

Yvonne Tyler

Yvonne Tyler, MD

Academic Learning Specialist
yvonneyt@uw.edu

Melinda Frank

Melinda Frank

Director, Learning Environment
mmfrank@uw.edu

Karla Kelly

Karla Kelly, MD

Program Operations Specialist, Learning Environment
karlak@uw.edu

blank headshot

Debbie Blackstone

Registrar
dbstone1@uw.edu

Kristen Duvall

Registration Specialist
krduv@uw.edu

blank headshot

Iryna Novachuk

Registration Specialist
novachuk@uw.edu