Student Affairs

The Office of Student Affairs is dedicated to supporting all medical students through their medical student journeys, from matriculation to graduation. Our services, resources, and programs offer holistic support to students as they grow as individuals and as future physicians. Our student services include academic support and tutoring, career advising, residency application support, counseling and wellness, financial aid and budgeting, enhancing the learning environment, and service learning opportunities. We are excited to work with each student as they move through their medical school career and are here for all students to offer help, support, and guidance along the way.

Helpful Links

Learning Environment Feedback Tool
Student Affairs Resources Website
Resources for parenting, pregnancy, and planning
Residency Applications
Student Health and Wellness
What to do in case of a needlestick?

Meet the Student Affairs Team

Contact us if you have any questions about the University of Washington School of Medicine.

Raye Maestas, MD

Raye Maestas, MD
Associate Dean
Student Affairs
maestas@uw.edu

Maya Sardesai

Maya Sardesai, MD, MEd
Assistant Dean for Student Development
Student Affairs
sardesai@uw.edu

Gerald Tolbert

Gerald Tolbert, MD
Assistant Dean for Student Support
Student Affairs
gtolbert@uw.edu

Sarah Wood

Sarah Wood
Associate Director
Clinical Phase
sewood@uw.edu

Sarah Wood

Administrative Manager
Student Affairs
adminSA@uw.edu

Ashley Russell

Ashley Russell
Program Coordinator
Student Affairs
russea@uw.edu

Cindy Elder

Melissa Zent
Manager, MSPE
Student Affairs
mzent@uw.edu

Rachel Palfini

Rachel Palfini
Program Operations Specialist
Student Affairs
rpalfini@uw.edu

Diane Noecker

Diane Noecker
Director
Financial Aid Office
dnoecker@uw.edu

Josh Kosankesh

Josh Kosanke
Financial Aid Counselor
Financial Aid Office
jkosanke@uw.edu

Tabitha Jungc

Tabitha Jungck
Financial Aid Counselor
Financial Aid Office
tabitha2@uw.edu

Brenda Martinez

Brenda Martinez
Proactive Advisor
Student Affairs
bnmb107@uw.edu

Leonora Clarke

Leonora Clarke
Manager of Program
Operations Service Learning
clarkel@uw.edu

Joanne Estacio-Deckard, LICSW

Joanne Estacio-Deckard, LICSW
Director
Medical School Counseling & Wellness Services
joanneed@uw.edu

Cliff Kelly, MS, MDiv, LMHC

Cliff Kelly, MS, MDiv, LMHC
Counselor
Medical School Counseling & Wellness Services
ckelly70@uw.edu

Sheri Davis, LICSW

Sheri Davis, LICSW
Counselor
Medical School Counseling & Wellness Services
sherid2@uw.edu

Sarah Thomson
Sarah Thomson
Director
Career Advising
saraht44@uw.edu
Linh Ngo
Linh Ngo
Career Advisor
Career Advising
lngo333@uw.edu

Tonja Brown
Tonja Brown
Career Advisor
Career Advising
tlbrown@uw.edu

Yvonne Tyler, MD
Yvonne Tyler, MD
Academic Learning Specialist
Academic Support
yvonneyt@uw.edu
Melinda Frank
Melinda Frank
Director
Learning Environment
mmfrank@uw.edu
Karla Kelly
Karla Kelly
Program Operations Specialist
Learning Environment
karlak@uw.edu

 

Publishing Page Content In Right Rail