Student Affairs

The Office of Student Affairs is dedicated to supporting all medical students through their medical student journeys, from matriculation to graduation. Our services, resources, and programs offer holistic support to students as they grow as individuals and as future physicians. Our student services include academic support and tutoring, career advising, residency application support, counseling and wellness, financial aid and budgeting, enhancing the learning environment, and service learning opportunities. We are excited to work with each student as they move through their medical school career and are here for all students to offer help, support, and guidance along the way.

Helpful Links

Learning Environment Feedback Tool
Student Affairs Resources Website
Resources for parenting, pregnancy, and planning
Residency Applications
Student Health and Wellness
What to do in case of a needlestick?

Meet the Student Affairs Team

Contact us if you have any questions about the University of Washington School of Medicine.

Raye Maestas

Raye Maestas, MD

Associate Dean, Student Affairs
maestas@uw.edu

Maya Sardesai

Maya Sardesai, MD, MEd

Assistant Dean for Student Development
sardesai@uw.edu

Gerald Tolbert

Gerald Tolbert, MD

Assistant Dean for Student Support
gtolbert@uw.edu

Blank headshot

Sarah Wood

Associate Director
sewood@uw.edu

Blank headshot

Robin Green

Administrative Manager
adminSA@uw.edu

Ashley Russell

Program Coordinator
russea@uw.edu

Brenda Martinez

Brenda Martinez

Proactive Advisor
bnmb107@uw.edu

Melissa Zent

Melissa Zent

MSPE Manager
mzent@uw.edu

Rachel Palfini

Rachel Palfini

Program Operations Specialist
rpalfini@uw.edu

Diane Noecker

Diane Noecker

Director, Financial Aid Office
dnoecker@uw.edu

Josh Kosanke

Josh Kosanke

Financial Aid Counselor
jkosanke@uw.edu

Tabitha Jungck

Tabitha Jungck

Financial Aid Counselor
tabitha2@uw.edu

Leonora Clarke

Leonora Clarke

Service Learning Manager
clarkel@uw.edu

Joanne Estacio Deckard

Joanne Estacio-Deckard, LICSW

Director, Counseling & Wellness Services
joanneed@uw.edu

Cliff Kelly

Cliff Kelly, MS, MDiv, LMHC

Counselor, Counseling & Wellness Services
ckelly70@uw.edu

Sarah Thomson

Sarah Thomson

Director, Career Advising
sarah744@uw.edu

Linh Ngo

Linh Ngo

Career Advisor
lngo333@uw.edu

Tonja Brown

Tonja Brown

Career Advisor
tlbrown@uw.edu

Yvonne Tyler

Yvonne Tyler, MD

Academic Learning Specialist
yvonneyt@uw.edu

Melinda Frank

Melinda Frank

Director, Learning Environment
mmfrank@uw.edu

Karla Kelly

Karla Kelly

Program Operations Specialist, Learning Environment
karlak@uw.edu