Student Affairs

The Office of Student Affairs is dedicated to supporting all medical students through their medical student journeys, from matriculation to graduation. Our services, resources, and programs offer holistic support to students as they grow as individuals and as future physicians. Our student services include academic support and tutoring, career advising, residency application support, counseling and wellness, credentialing and compliance support, financial aid and budgeting, enhancing the learning environment, proactive advising, registration and scheduling, and service learning opportunities. We are excited to work with each student as they move through their medical school career and are here for all students to offer help, support, and guidance along the way.

Meet the Student Affairs Team

Contact us if you have any questions about the University of Washington School of Medicine.

 

Deans & Administration

Gabe Sarah, M.D., M.Ed.

Associate Dean for Student Affairs
gesarah@uw.edu

Maya Sardesai, M.D., M.Ed.

Assistant Dean for Student Development
sardesai@uw.edu

Erik Malmberg, Ph.D., J.D.

Assistant Dean for Equity & Medical Student Engagement
edmalm@uw.edu

blank headshot

Andrea Walker

Assistant to the Deans
adminsa@uw.edu

Academic Support

Erica Brice, Ph.D.

Director, Academic Support
ebrice@uw.edu

Yvonne Tyler

Yvonne Tyler, M.D.

Academic Learning Specialist
yvonneyt@uw.edu

Rebekah Freed, Ph.D.

Academic Learning Specialist
drfreed@uw.edu

Career Advising

Sarah Thomson

Sarah Thomson

Director, Career Advising
saraht44@uw.edu

Tonja Brown

Tonja Brown

Career Advisor
tlbrown@uw.edu

Linh Ngo

Linh Ngo

Career Advisor
lngo333@uw.edu

Compliance & Visiting Students

blank headshot

Laura Ellis

Director, Compliance
lbellis@uw.edu

blank headshot

Dimitri Tsakalos

Compliance & VSLO Manager
tsakalos@uw.edu

blank headshot

Yoonseo Nam

Student Assistant
visitstu@uw.edu / somcompl@uw.edu

Counseling & Wellness

Cliff Kelly

Cliff Kelly, M.S., M.Div., L.M.H.C.

Director, Counseling & Wellness Services
ckelly70@uw.edu

Darren Fisher, M.A., L.M.H.C.A.

Counselor
fisherda@uw.edu

blank headshot

Satoko Takeda, M.A., L.M.H.C., N.C.C.

Counselor
staked@uw.edu

Equity

blank headshot

M. Yvonne Taylor, Ph.D.

Director, Medical Student Equity
myvonne@uw.edu

blank headshot

Michele Nucci

Operations Specialist
mnucci@uw.edu

Financial Aid

A woman with short brown hair wearing glasses and a red floral shirt

Diane Noecker

Director, Financial Aid Office
dnoecker@uw.edu

blank headshot

Stephanie Olsen

Assistant Director for SOM Scholarships
stepho5@uw.edu

Jessica Wu

Financial Aid Counselor
jj860610@uw.edu

General Student Services

Blank headshot

Sarah Wood

Director
sewood@uw.edu

blank headshot

Laura Ortiz

Assistant Director, Student Affairs
laortiz@uw.edu

blank headshot

Melissa Riesland

MSPE Specialist
riesland@uw.edu

Melissa Zent

Melissa Zent

MSPE Manager
mzent@uw.edu

blank headshot

Nia Ransom

Program Coordinator
nsransom@uw.edu

Learning Environment

Melinda Frank

Melinda Frank, Ed.D, Ed.S., M.Sc.

Director, Learning Environment
mmfrank@uw.edu

Karla Kelly

Karla Kelly, M.D.

Program Operations Specialist, Learning Environment
karlak@uw.edu

Registration & Scheduling

blank headshot

Debbie Blackstone, Ph.D.

Registrar
dbstone1@uw.edu

Kristen Duvall

Registration Specialist
krduv@uw.edu

blank headshot

Iryna Novachuk

Registration Specialist
novachuk@uw.edu

blank headshot

Swan Nguyen

Program Coordinator
nguy2611@uw.edu

Kelly Rush

Proactive Advisor
krush3@uw.edu

Service Learning

blank headshot

Ellen Tan

Assistant Director, Service Learning
ettan@uw.edu

Dana Nakashima

Community Engagement Coordinator
dnakas4@uw.edu

Open Positions in Student Affairs

Thank you for your interest in joining our team. Please see our current opportunities below. All positions are based in-person in Seattle, Washington unless otherwise noted.