Office of Rural Programs

Apply to TRUST

How to Apply

Qualified University of Washington applicants will have the opportunity to apply to the TRUST program within their secondary application materials following receipt and review of the AMCAS application. Unlike many medical schools, UWSOM does not request Secondary Applications automatically; applications are screened to determine if a Secondary Application will be requested. There is an optional section on the Secondary Application to apply to the TRUST program.


The application deadline for admission is December 1. If you are interested in the program, we encourage you to apply through the regular admissions process and connect with our program. Materials will not be reviewed if submitted after the application deadline.

TRUST Commitment Statement

Upon completing the TRUST application, applicants will be asked to sign the following Commitment Statement:

“I understand that I am agreeing to participate in the Targeted Rural Underserved Track (TRUST) Program at the University of Washington School of Medicine. If I am accepted into this program, I make a firm commitment as a TRUST Scholar to fully participate in and complete the requirements of the program. I understand the current learning plan for my entering year, and am aware of the opportunities afforded in the TRUST program. I understand that the TRUST program is intended as training for those medical students who fully intend to practice medicine in underserved rural or underserved small city locations. I understand that if I am offered admission into the TRUST program and decline this offer, I will not be offered admission to the UW School of Medicine for the same entering year. If I am not accepted into the TRUST program, my application will still be considered for admission into the regular medical school class for the same entering year.”



The UWSOM TRUST program operates out of six regional Foundations Phase campuses:

  • Gonzaga University (Spokane)
  • University of Washington (Seattle)
  • University of Wyoming (Laramie)
  • University of Alaska (Anchorage)
  • Montana State University (Bozeman)
  • University of Idaho (Moscow)

Interested students apply to a Foundations Campus and are considered for that campus’ TRUST program. The TRUST continuity community assignment is also based on the Foundations campus a student has applied and been accepted to. More information about each of the WWAMI TRUST programs is found below:

Washington TRUST Scholars may indicate a preference for their Foundations Phase campus, (Spokane or Seattle), however, continuity community assignments are based on the Foundations campus to which the student preferences (for example, a student who would like Chelan should apply to the Spokane campus). More information about possible TRUST continuity sites can be found here.

Wyoming TRUST Scholars will be assigned to the Laramie Foundations Phase campus. See the Wyoming TRUST brochure for more information.

Alaska TRUST Scholars will be assigned to the Anchorage Foundations Phase campus. See Alaska TRUST brochure for more information.

Montana TRUST Scholars will be assigned to the Bozeman Foundations Phase campus. See the Montana TRUST brochure for more information.

Idaho TRUST Scholars will be assigned to the Moscow Foundations Phase campus. See Idaho TRUST brochure for more information.


For more information about the various TRUST programs, please reach out to the following TRUST contacts:

TRUST Administration
Eastern Washington Western Washington
Kathy Minnerly
Stacey Erdahl
Wyoming Alaska
Deb Dolph
Shyla Cochran-Dema
Montana Idaho
Lisa Benzel
Whitney Vincent